Address: Godfrey Hill Cemetery Gilead Street
Inventory Num: 130
Location: East side 0.4 Mi south of East Street
Year Built: 1739 - 1835
Builder: n/a
Style:
Current Use: Cemetery
Notable Architectural Features:
- This cemetary is only 1/4 full and has approx 90 markers of granite, marble, brownstone and slate.
- The stones range in age from 1739 - 1835
- The site is bordered by a fieldstone wall on three sides and barbed wire fence on the fourth.
- It is maintained in the form of mowing the grass
Importance:The inscription on the oldest marker reads: here lies ye body of Mr. Richard Curtice one of the first founders of the CHH (Church) in Hebron DOB may 21 AD 1739 AEATIS SUAE 52. Made by julius Collins, Lebanon crank - Also the wives of famed Episcopal Minister Samuel Peters are buried here.